The Season of Growth (26-28 Mar)

The snowdrops (Galanthus sp.) are here!!! YAY!!!!

Thursday, 26 Mar

Today is probably my proudest moment at work. Of course, no one was there to see it. But I’m still proud of myself nonetheless. I am proud to announce that I have officially managed to pull my first FULL, COMPLETE ribbon of ONE sample! YAY!!!! No breakages, no losses. The ribbon was BEAUTIFUL! Sorry, but I don’t have a picture (I don’t bring my phone into the sectioning room, it ruins the “zen” of the place).

On another note, I have officially finished my first box of 100 slides. It’s crazy to think that I’ve managed to mount 100 slides worth of samples — though most of them are probably TERRIBLE.

The Trinity Church in Boston. I stumbled upon it on my adventure back home.

Friday, 27 Mar

AHHH!! Spring is coming! I’m so excited! The first signs of spring popped up today with the appearance of some darling little snowdrops (Galanthus sp). There are some leaves of other bulbs coming out as well, but I don’t know what most of them are yet, as I’m not well-versed in bulbs — yet.

Side note: I left work so late today that I missed my regular bus and it had stopped running for the day. So, I had to take the last bus to the train station to take the train home; THAT took an hour and a half! Crazy!

Saturday, 28 Mar

Just when I thought spring was coming, it decided to snow . Thankfully, it wasn’t too much snow, just enough to make you miss winter just a smidgen.

Meanwhile, I’m happy to announce that my dear friend Allen has found a new home and will soon be shipped off to South Carolina to my friend’s, who’s in the US Army there. May many adventures come your way and may your new home be kind to you. You’ve been a good companion, but now it’s time to move on. I love you, Allen.

“Today” I Learned

  • Radishes are spicier the warmer the weather they’re grown in.
  • Rhubarb is sweeter the redder the stalk.

In memory of Allen. I love you. Have a safe journey to your new home! ❤

Leave a Reply

