The Last Days Before the Christmas (21-23 Dec)

THERE’S A GIANT CHRISTMAS TREE!

Sunday, 21 Dec

Alas, the sweet bliss of good company.

After a day of just DELICIOUS COOKIES, my friend and I decided to go out to the city a bit today. We started in “downtown”. At first, we were just wandering around. Then, snowflakes decided to start attacking my face. I mean… winter kisses are great and all, but they were ATTACKING MY FACE. They took a particular liking to my eyelashes. My friend had to remind me that I could melt them just with the threat of my touch. Thank goodness for friends.

Anyhow, we walked around and went into some discount shops like TJ Maxx and Marshalls. Originally, we went in to help her look for earmuffs, since western Massachusetts gets MUCH colder than Boston. Alas, to no avail, but I ended up buying stuff. I bought Baci chocolates. My Italian flatmate had introduced me to them. They were too good to resist – even though I’m not a chocolate-indulging-obsessive type like most people I know. The other AWESOME blast from the past – PRIMARK. So, I know my American friends probably have NO IDEA what the big deal is, but let’s just say it’s Walmart prices meets Forever 21 and H&M styles. It’s THE PLACE to shop for a temporary thing you may only use once or twice without breaking the bank. LOVE IT! Anyhow, when I knew I was going to Boston, I just HAD TO know where they were opening it, but I didn’t find it. Today, I did. There’s a giant sign in downtown that says “Coming Fall/Winter 2015”. One more year to go!!!!! SO EXCITED!

OMG PRIMARK!

Other shenanigans:

  • We had some delicious salmon sandwich at the “infamous” Flour Bakery + Cafe. I HAVE TO fascinate and nerd over the fact that it’s on a street called Farnsworth Street.

Our smoked salmon sandwich and potato wedges.

Monday, 22 Dec

Second Monday at work, with the holidays struggling. It’s a struggle to keep going! Save me! Just kidding. It was fun. I love my job. Currently still in the process of learning how to make myself useful in lab. It’s a struggle because I feel so new to everything, like I’m lost and I don’t know WHAT I’m doing. Though that’s true, as it’s only my second (half) week, I wish I could do more. I wish I could learn faster and be more productive NOW!

For now though, today, I indulged in the part of my job I enjoy the most: reading. I usually leave work at 5pm, but today I got so absorbed into reading scientific papers that I had pulled to read, that I didn’t WANT to leave work until I realised (and remembered) that I had a friend waiting at home for me. I’m such a terrible friend, but it’s the truth. I love what I do. By the time I left work it was about 6:30-7:00pm.

Thankfully, my friend didn’t seem to mind being alone the whole day and having me return late. She seemed to be enjoying herself quite a bit being on her own. I’m guessing it’s because being an introvert visiting friends for extended periods can be quite exhausting sometimes. I know I feel like that myself sometimes. So, our last night together, we had a dinner in of lots of leftovers and Gattaca.

OMG Ireland is following me! Too bad they don’t have real Irish food.

Tuesday, 23 Dec

Up to Cambridge again today. YAY! The terrible part, though, was that I had made an appointment with the HR lady at 9:30am, thinking I’d make it. Sadly, with my TERRIBLE sense of direction, I just got lost for half an hour and arrived only shortly after 10:00am. Thankfully, the office was quiet and she didn’t really mind.

Afterwards, I made my way down to work and screwed up my CharlieCard pass in the process. Yay, complicated systems. Oh well, what can I do? I’m thankful I have helpful people all around me though. The postdoc I work with offered to drive me to the train station where I could get CharlieTickets to pay for my rides until January when my monthly pass becomes active AND my best friend offered to pick me up from work prior to taking me shopping for Christmas dinner ingredients.

Aside from all that craziness, I also lost the potential apartment I had wanted. She wanted me to live with her and we had agreed but when I looked deeper into the situation, it turns out I can’t get a PO Box unless I have a proof of residency. So, I told her we’d have to break the deal simply because she refuses to put me on her lease and that meant I couldn’t get mail directly to her apartment. THANKFULLY, I called up one of the previous rooms I had rejected, but I had LOVED, and they said that the room was still available and that they would LOVE to have me. Even though it’s a little more expensive, they said that they’re willing to negotiate it out with me and I may potentially have a room! YAY!

What I Learned “Today”

  • Good memories and people who matter will pervade your thoughts no matter where you are and what you’re doing.
  • To get a PO Box, you need to have a photo ID and a non-photo ID/proof of residency (i.e. car insurance, deed of trust, current lease, mortgage, voter or vehicle registration card, home or vehicle insurance policy)

Other Pictures

 

Apparently, there’s a poem linked to the CharlieCard. WHAT?!

View of the city going north on Seaport Blvd.

A gorgeous clock tower in the financial district/downtown Boston.

One thought on “The Last Days Before the Christmas (21-23 Dec)

  1. Pingback: Moving Into the New Year (1-3 Jan) | Diverse Shades of Green

Leave a Reply

