Eggs & Campaigns

Back to School after A Lovely “Midterm” (24/3/14)

Spring break had such lovely weather. Then, school started and Ireland decided to remind me that spring is not really a thing. My first class coming back to school was my statistics class with my Irish professor who’s my brother’s age. He started my week with the phrase “populate the values”. That sounds so much nicer than the typical American “plug and chug”. After a day of classes, I went food shopping with my flatmate and I bought kiwis for the first time in my adult life. I took forever trying to figure out how to eat it. I even had to YouTube it and I asked a few people’s opinion. In the end, I cut off the top and scoped it out of its skin that way.

Challenges & Frustrations (25/3/14)

So, apparently it’s normal for people to just walk around the streets of Dublin carrying a small jug of milk. I had never encountered this in college until today. This guy in my folklore class walked in with a small 500mL jug of milk this morning; that’s like, a pint of milk! I guess that’s not THAT much, but I’ve seen people walk around with twice that, which is about a quart of milk! I’m jealous. If only I wasn’t lactose intolerant.

Anyways, it’s my second day back and I already had my first exam back since spring break. Oddly enough, a fire alarm went off in the middle of it and the professor just had us leave our exams there to return to 10 minutes later when we were allowed to go back in.

“Noah’s Egg” by Dermot Weld on UCD campus. Left: a peek into the egg. Top right: a full view of the egg. Bottom right: a close up of the egg and the hole into which to look.

The best part of my second day back to school, though, was definitely this evening. I started by helping my friends in the crazy event UCD students call “postering” – read: battle/race for as many spaces to put posts as possible. It was pure madness. Then, immediately afterwards, I went to my first trampoline practice after spring break. In short, I fell on face – literally –  while practicing my routine; got a nice big scratch across my forehead. Though luckily, I did find out I’m VERY flexible.

The night ended with a walk with my ‘personal coach’ to his bus stop. Along the way, we passed by the egg on campus. He showed me something I had never known about the egg since its replacement on campus. It has a hole you can look into, revealing a dark space with what looks like the stars shining through into it.

The beauty of a slice of kiwi.

Kiwi Eating (28/3/14)

So, I’ve been experimenting with different ways of eating a kiwi, as I’ve never really had to prepare my own kiwi for eating. One of my Brazilian friends suggested I slice it, skin and all. I tried it. To be honest, I wasn’t too fond of it though he was quite right: the skin is rather crunchy. At the same time, I also rediscovered the beauty of nature, especially regarding the space around the seed. In the kiwi, it is clear while the rest of the fruit is solid, creating a beautiful sense of contrast.

REAL homemade Italian pasta, as made by my flatmate’s grandmother.

For the Love of Dun Laoghaire (29/3/14)

Today was definitely a day of relaxation. My Italian flatmate and I decided to take a trip down to Dun Laoghaire with one of my American friends from trampoline. It was a lovely trip, as always, with a short stop at the Irish Cancer Society charity shop there where my flatmate and I both picked up a new piece of clothing each for a good sum. Then, when we went to our final designation, the Tesco, we found a rather wide of what Europeans consider “Easter eggs”. It’s not the American plastic eggs with little candies inside, they’re huge – at least a foot tall – chocolate shells in the shape of an egg, with various types of goodies inside. Sometimes these are more pieces of chocolate, other times there are like toys or plushies.

After a long, lovely day in our favorite Dun Laoghaire, my flatmate treated me to her grandma’s pasta sauce for dinner. It was SO good to have REAL homemade Italian food.

Things I Learned “today”

  • Vanilla pods are the seed pods of an orchid flower.
  • There is an EU grant to protect leprechauns in Louth County in the Cooley Mountains.
  • The leprechaun’s favorite color is red, not green, because red is the color of “the other world” (why red hair is often associated with beings from “the other world”).
  • May trees are given by a guy to a girl in (some parts of) Germany on the first of May if he likes her.
  • If you have a Gmail account (a regular account or a Google Apps account), you can get a free (American) phone number from which you can make free calls to anywhere in the US.

Words/Phrases of the Day

  • Boot (of a car) = trunk
Leave a Reply

