A Little Pinch of Something New

Dancing with Happy Feet Swing at 4 Dame Lane.

New Steps (27/1/14)

It’s been a while since I’ve been swing dancing. I finally gathered up my senses and I took myself dancing at 4 Dame Lane with Happy Feet Swing. It was rather exciting as, I got to go for free as a volunteer. In addition to that, I signed up for a weekend of learning Balboa. While I was at it, the lady who was helping organize it taught me the basics of Balboa. I’m so excited now! I can’t wait to get back into dancing for good.

This Lady is a Tramp… (28/1/14)

So, I made a decision to join the Trampoline Club this semester. So, I went to my first session this week. I didn’t learn too much this first day, but I got to meet a girl I had helped online to settle into UCD. She had apparently decided to join trampoline as well. It was quite exciting, even though I had no idea what was going on. It was quite an exciting first day, as there was an excitement going around as one of the members was making a video for a little girl with a terminal illness. It was quite sweet, and quite fun to watch as everyone participate in the video.

My first Asian meal of the semester, with a lovely marbled tea egg.

The Asian-ness Persists (29/1/14)

This might not be THAT exciting, but I just have to share how I excited I am that I successfully made marbled tea egg for the first time. From what I’ve tested, the key is 2 tablespoons of soy sauce for every 1 cup of water with 1 anise seed and 1 packet of pu-erh tea.

The World of Technology (31/1/14)

In biotechnology lab today, I got to play with a gene gun. Yay! And yes, it is as cool as it sounds – at least in my world. I got to shoot onion cells with gold particles covered with DNA particles. It was rather exciting.

On the other hand, today began the 3D printer challenge. My French friend had invited me to join his team, so I did. We have 30 hours to build a 3D printer from a kit and then print something impressive. It is SO exciting. I rushed their after class and went there in between classes. My team had our printer up and running by hour 14 or 15. It was quite exciting. I decided to sleep over for the night and live, for a night, in the new science building. We barely slept and I was running on A LOT of tea. We had movies playing on and off during the night. In the end, I napped for a total of an hour under a desk at some point.

And the Winner Is… (1/2/14)

After a long night of successes and failures in almost every group, we finished our competition today at 4pm. The winners of the competition get to go to London or Paris for a 3D Printer Convention. I was so exhausted after the competition, I came home and just passed out. I was so ridiculously tired I didn’t want to do anything more than sleep.

The Ron Pope Show at Whelan’s

My First Concert (2/2/14)

Tonight, I went to my first concert. My Canadian friend and I went to go see Ron Pope at Whelan’s. The Opening of the concert was by Alexz Johnson, whom I rather liked a good bit, and Mike Grubbs of Wakey!Wakey!, which was interesting without the full band. It was a pretty good concert, smaller than what I’d expect of most concerts, but that’s alright.

Things I Learned “today”

  • Prawn cocktails are made with “Marie Rose” sauce, essentially the “British version” of Thousand Island.
  • Ireland had no sugar industry since 2006, meaning they didn’t have a place that produces sugar. Thus, they get all their sugar imported. Just last year, they’re beginning to revive it.
  • St. Brigid’s Day is February 1st, to celebrate the beginning of spring. Though, traditionally, before the Christianization of pagan holidays, it was known as Imbolg

Words/Phrases of the Day

  • Gladrag = a fancy or expensive item of clothing, better than your “Sunday best”

Pictures from the 3D Printer Hackathon:

Highlights from the 3D Printer Hackathon. (Top left) Some models that were downloaded and printed, (top right) a water spout attachment the winning design team had created, (bottom right) a 3D print of the UCD logo, (bottom middle) a 3D printed bust of the artist himself, (bottom right) an attempt at a Rubix cube piece with the UCD logo on it.

The 3D printer we built from UltiMaker, their logo model (bottom left), and our team captain’s design of a printer printing a printer IN our printer (bottom right)

One thought on “A Little Pinch of Something New

Leave a Reply

